In the most recent legislative session, state legislators tried to revise the outdated Arizona insurance minimum set in 1972.
Current Arizona law requires motorists to purchase what is known as 15/30/10 coverage: $15,000 for injuries to any one person, $30,000 for all injuries from the same crash, and $10,000 in property damage, usually to the other motorist’s vehicle.
The revised measure would have increased the minimum insurance coverage to $25,000 for injuries to one person, $50,000 for all injuries, and $25,000 for property damage.
However, Governor Ducey vetoed the legislation to increase Arizona’s minimum insurance requirements. The current 15/30/10 requirements will stay in place for the time being. The Governor was concerned that increasing the minimums would raise insurance premiums, and some people would not be able to afford coverage
A lot of people don’t know what underinsured motorist coverage is and why it’s essential. Everyone should know what it is and everyone should have it.
“Liability” coverage, which everyone must purchase ($15,000 minimum) protects other people if you cause an accident resulting in injuries.
A recent study by Carinsurance.com in 2017 estimated that 12% of Arizona drivers have no insurance at all.
So how can you protect yourself and your family from drivers who are underinsured and even uninsured drivers?
Review your current auto policy with your agent. Ask about “uninsured” and “ underinsured” (UM/UIM) coverage and if you don’t have it, get it on your policy. Arizona law requires insurance companies to offer you this coverage. UM/UIM coverage protects YOU and your loved ones if another driver injures you, but the other driver has no insurance or insufficient insurance.
Lots of things have changed since 1972 but not Arizona’s outdated insurance minimums.
UM/UIM protects you, and everyone should have it. Don’t wait until you are involved in a crash and potentially injured.
Act now and protect yourself and your family.